Main Objective   
Planning and implementation of development activities of the Ministry.


   Role of the Division   
Initiate actions/ projects/ programmes related to the development of the media industry in Sri Lanka.


   The Main Activities of the Division   

  • Planning and implementation activities related to the development of the Media industry.
  • Formulation of the State Media Policy and the code of ethics for the media industry in Sri Lanka.
  • Formulation of the regulations related to the Acts of the Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation and the Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation.
  • Issuing License for Television Channels and Radio Broadcasting services.
  • Provision of financial assistance for Media personnel to improve the quality of the service and professionalism.
  • Implementation of a Pension scheme for Media Personnel.
  • Review the progress in performance of the affiliated institutions.


   Special programmes / Projects / Workshop   

  • Mahinda Rajapakse National Tele Cinema Park
  • Special ProgrammesÂÂÂ arrow
  • Establishment of the National Broadcasting Development Authority.
  • Introduction of Digital Technology for television
  • Formulation of National Media broadcasting Ratings.


   Forms / Acts / Regulations (Click to Download)   


   Main Hierarchy   

dsc 2635

Mr. B. K. S. Ravindra
Designation : Additional Secretary (D/P)
Telephone : 011-2513 943
Fax : 011-2513 343
E-mail : 


Designation : Director (Development)
Telephone : 011-2513 470
Fax : 011-2513 470
E-Mail :

dsc 2614 Mrs. H. Kulathunga
Designation : Director (Planning))
Telephone : 011-2513 351
Fax : 011-2513 350
E-Mail : 
rasanjali Miss. P. G. P. Rasanjalie
Designation : Assistant Director (Planning)
Telephone : 011-2512 052
Fax : 011-2512 343
E-Mail : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
dsc 2652 Miss. Harshika Weeraratne
Designation : Assistant Secretary (Development)
Telephone : 011-2513 451
Fax : 011-2513 462
E-mail :