The election to select the Diyawadana Nilame of the Sri Dalada Maligawa for the next 10 years was held today under the patronage of Commissioner General for Buddhist Affairs Chandraprema Gamage at the Buddhist Centre at Senkadagala in Kandy.

Out of six nominations submitted, the Actg. Diyawadana Nilame Pradeep Nilanga Dela, former Diyawadana Nilame Neranjan Wijeratne and the Basnayake Nilamei of the Sri Natha Devalaya in Kandy, Attorney-at-Law Gayan Bandara Heenkenda received the opportunity of facing the election.

Sri Natha Devale Basnayaka Nilame Gayan Heenkenda obtained 53 votes while former Diyawadana Nilame Neranjan Wijeratne obtained 31 votes.