The Joint Commission, co-chaired by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka and the Minister of External Affairs of India will be held on 5 February 2016 in Colombo.

The India-Sri Lanka Joint Commission was established in 1992 as an effective mechanism to address matters pertaining to bilateral cooperation between the two countries. The discussions will include areas such as economic cooperation, trade, power and energy, technical and maritime cooperation, social, cultural and educational matters, science and technology, defence cooperation, health, civil aviation, tourism, and people-to-people contact.

The Eighth Session of the India-Sri Lanka Joint Commission was held in New Delhi on 22 January 2013.

Minister Swaraj will arrive in Sri Lanka in the afternoon of 5 February and depart in the evening of 6 February. During her visit, Minister Sushma Swaraj will also call on President Maithripala Sirisena, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and former President Chandrika Kumaratunga, the Foreign Ministry further said.