Fulfilling the need of a main controlling system to control and monitor electricity grids of Sri Lanka with a firm management of electricity and with a motive to provide efficient service, this centre was built with a Rupees 3 Billion loan provided by Asian Development Bank (ADB).

This new controlling system can monitor all 25 power generation stations and electricity Grid stations live simultaneously.
In the former controlling system this facility existed only in 35 electricity grid sub stations and 15 power houses.

The engineer of the controlling system can acquire a good understanding about the flow of current in every transmitting line, the amount of energy produced in power stations and the level of water in dams of hydro power stations.
President Sirisena, who unveiled the commemoration plaque and opened the new controlling system observed the work in the main controlling system.

Minister of Power and Renewable Energy, Ranjith Siyamablapitiya, State Minister, Ajith P Perera, Secretary of the Ministry of Power and Energy, Dr. Suren Batagoda, Chairman to the Ceylon Electricity Board, W.B.Ganegala, and other officials were present in this event.