The President has been appointed this committee considering the views received by him from various parties regarding this agreement.
Former Vice Chancellor of the Colombo University and Emeritus Professor of Economics Deshamanya W. D. Lakshman, has been appointed as the Chairman of this five member Committee.
Its other members are Sirimevan Colombage, an Emeritus Professor of Economics of the Open University, Ajitha Tennakoon, Emeritus Professor of Economics at the Kelaniya University, Dr. Santha Jayanetti, Independent Consultant and R.A. Jayatissa former Assistant Governor of the Central Bank.
Accordingly, a special study is to be carried out on the Sri Lanka Singapore Free Trade Agreement and the Committee is tasked with making recommendations regarding the practical impact and use of the proposed officer policy guidelines and recommendations on framing Sri Lankas future trade policy.
It also includes the scope of the agreement to study the various aspects of Sri Lankas diversified services as well as to study the impact of social and economic conditions on Sri Lanka and the living standards of the people.
All parties can submit their own suggestions and ideas to the committee.
The President will looks into the progress of the tasks of the Expert Committee intermittently through interim reports and the final report is to be handed over within two months.