The 2022 Kalabhooshana State Award Ceremony, which honours artistes for their outstanding contributions to the arts industry, took place at the Maharagama Youth Service Council under the leadership of President Ranil Wickremesinghe yesterday (11).

Organized by the Buddhasasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs Ministry, this marks the 38th edition of the award ceremony. The Kalabhooshana Award, the highest recognition an artiste can receive in Sri Lanka, was bestowed on 200 accomplished artistes from across the country this year.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe participated in the event, symbolically presenting the Kalabhooshana Honorary Title, Appreciation Award and certificates, along with a cash prize of Rs. 50,000, to the deserving artistes. During the ceremony, Director of Cultural Affairs, Yasintha Gunawardena, also presented a commemorative gift to President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Before the awards were presented, a moment of silence was observed to pay tribute to artistes, including the late Jackson Anthony. The event was attended by Ven.Rambukana Siddhartha Thera, religious leaders and several dignitaries, including the Minister of Buddhasasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs Vidura Wickramanayake, State Minister Shantha Banadara, MPs Vajira Abeywardena and C.B.Ratnayake, Prof. Tissa Witharana and Religious and Cultural Affairs Ministry Secretary Somaratne Vidanapathirana. Notable scholars and artistes were also present.